I’ve been putting off writing about this, but it’s probably time for me to say something about procrastinating. I would have said something before, but I never was able to get around to it.

But first, before I get to it now, let me tell you a story about the time my wife and I were driving in Italy and it was snowing and we don’t speak Italian.

Or that may have been when we were in France, where it was raining.

Which reminds me that we do speak French, but nevertheless couldn’t make ourselves understood when talking with this woman who was coming into our building and carrying a number of grocery bags. I think it was grocery bags, but if you’ll give me a minute, I’ll look it up and see if I still have that picture that’s either on my phone or somewhere in the closet in the office. I just have to organize the pictures in the office closet first.

Wait, where was I? Oh, yes, I wanted to talk, finally, about procrastinating.

And I’ll do so in just a moment, right after I check to see if the mail came and what the weather’s going to be like in Phoenix in April in case we’re in Phoenix in April. Of course, it’s possible it will be too hot then, which means I may have to go back to try to finish that Sunday crossword puzzle I was working on several Sundays ago.

On the other hand, before I do that, I need to find the crossword puzzle dictionary to make sure I spell the ancient name of the capital of Japan correctly.

And I’ll do that soon, right after I look up the definition of procrastinate in the dictionary.

By the way, did you know that the definition of procrastinate comes right after the definition of proconsul, which is a governor or military commander of an ancient Roman province? I didn’t know that either. Or maybe I did. I’m not sure.

Well, in any case, it turns out procrastinate means delaying, postponing, dawdling and generally dragging your feet. For instance, I’ve been dragging my feet since last Tuesday, which is when I should have finished this post on procrastination and also gotten new shoes because my old ones were scratched from too much dragging.

So, yes, procrastinating can be destructive. But it does have its good points. That’s why I’m pro crastinating. Let me explain.

If you can put off for tomorrow what you were supposed to do today, that means you’ll have more time today to put off things until next week. If you can put off everything until next week, it means you’ll have this whole week to do all the things you promised to do in July of 2014.

Additionally, you’ll always have something to look forward to.

