I’m confused. I am not sure if someone who uses Twitter should be considered a tweeter or a twitterer, a tweetie or a twit. Please advise.

Dear Confused:

Someone using the application known as Twitter is someone, first of all, who must always restrict his or her comments to exactly 140 charac

*

I’m frustrated. My children don’t answer the phone when I call them. They don’t respond to emails. Now they’ve unfriended me on Facebook, blocked me on Instagram and don’t even reply when I text them. How can you communicate with young people today?

Dear Frustrated:

Please understand that young people today are very busy updating their status and creating designer pickles. They don’t want to be disturbed by last week’s technology.

So, if it’s an emergency, you might try using Snapchat to get in touch, but only if you know what Snapchat is. As a last resort, you might just FedEx them a sad emoji. Make sure you don’t send it to their land line.

*

I am concerned that I haven’t backed up any of my files since 1997. I understand I could lose my documents, my contacts, my photos and my mind if something went wrong. I want to save everything to the cloud, but I don’t know how to do that.

Dear Concerned:

First you have to choose your cloud. We recommend cumulus. Although we’ve seen good reviews on Yelp and Trip Advisor for cirrus.

After you make that choice, then carefully hold your laptop or mobile device up to the sky and, magically, everything gets copied to the cloud because, frankly, how else could it happen?

Unfortunately, this does not work on really sunny days.

  *

I am worried about online security. What if someone — you know, the Russians — hacks my email accounts, discovers that I actually have responded to spam from a Nigerian prince, and steals my identity? How can I protect myself while online?

Dear Worried:

The first thing to do is change your passwords. If changing your passwords doesn’t work, change your clothes. Research has shown that wearing the same pair of shorts for more than a week can make you susceptible to computer viruses and extravagant dry cleaning costs.

 *

My laptop says I should not shut it down until it finishes 43 more updates. I’m a risk-taker and want to see what could happen if I shut it down before it is finished updating. Should I?

Dear Risk-Taker:

It is a little-known fact that even after you shut your computer down, the tiny little updates continue their tiny little tasks. The only difference is that when the computer is shut down you can’t hear them singing, in their little high-pitched voices, “Whistle While You Update.”

  *

I am overwhelmed with passwords. I have too many and don’t even know if this is the right password that will allow me to ask you questions.

Dear Overwhelmed:

It seems your password is fine, but you have keyed in the wrong user name. Please try again.

