In less than two weeks, I will attempt to severely injure my feet, damage my legs, impair my back and put almost all my joints out of whack, assuming they have ever been in whack or they even know where whack is.

In any case, I’m really looking forward to it.

I will be, once again, undertaking The Great Saunter, the longest urban hike in the country, a 34-mile circumnavigation of the island of Manhattan. In one day. On two feet.

Along with my daughter, I did this last year. It took us around 12 hours and then I couldn’t walk again for seven months. Nor was I able to play the piano for months after the walk.

So why am I doing it again this year?

I have my reasons.

Even before doing The Great Saunter last year, I wasn’t able to play the piano. I’m still not able to play the piano. So, really, if you look at it that way, I have nothing to lose. This year, I’m hoping not to be able to play the cello after the walk.

I proved last year that, even at my age, I could undertake a daunting physical challenge and come out of it severely daunted. I’m assuming that this year, I will be able to prove that I may be a year older, but I’m still just as foolish.

Doing a 12-hour, 34-mile walk gives you lots of time to ponder the great mysteries of the universe, like why does Ticketmaster charge so much for fees, including a service fee and an order processing fee? And whatever happened to Good&Plenty? How come you can’t find it around anymore?

Also, why can you still remember all the words to the Beatles’ “A Hard Day’s Night” after 40 years but can’t remember where you left your keys two minutes ago?

There’s nothing like a good, long, 34-mile walk to help you appreciate the joys of napping. Really, there’s nothing like it.

Doing something like this, you can get in closer touch with your body. Unfortunately, you may not want to get in closer touch with your body because you’ve found out that your body no longer fits into those pants you bought right after college.

I learned a lot doing the saunter last year. I learned that there’s no such thing as good walking shoes if the walk you’re walking is 34 miles long.

You get to see extraordinary sights that you wouldn’t normally have seen if you hadn’t taken a 34-mile walk. Like, last year, my daughter and I got to see a guy completely keel over after he had finished the walk and tried to play the piano.

We learned that physical exercise is good for you. And if you do enough of it during one very long day, you don’t have to do any more of it until at least a year later.

And, of course, when you finally stop, it feels so good.

