Before I actually begin to do my taxes, and carefully subtract line 62A from line 39B, I must:

Find last year’s taxes. I think I filed them under 2014 taxes but I could have filed them under 2015 taxes, since that is when I actually did them while mistakenly adding line 62A to line 39B. Then again, I could have thrown them under the bed with the 2013 and 2012 taxes.

If I did actually file them, then I also have to find my filing cabinet. It could be in the closet in the office or in the back of the shed or in the kitchen trash masher. Then again, maybe it’s under the bed, too.

Compare last year’s taxes with this year’s taxes. Will I still be able to take the dental expenses deduction for regular purchases of Extra Fine Unwaxed Dental Floss (50 YDs) or has that deduction been reduced to 25 yards and mint-flavored?

Collect all my W-2s, 1099s, Schedule Bs, Schedule Cs and Schedule Ds, but not my Schedule Es, which are still vacationing in England and have received an extension because of driving on the wrong side of the road.

Gather all my business expense receipts. But first I need to decide if purchasing Twizzlers is considered a legitimate business expense if you eat them while doing business. Last I looked, the IRS was working on Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, so they may not have gotten to Twizzlers yet, if they are going alphabetically, and thus there’s little risk of being audited.

Total up my medical expenses.

First I have to add the doctor visits to the co-pays, subtract the co-insurance, multiply by the deductibles, apply the insurance discount, take a percentage of the healthcare premiums, find the square root of the healthcare savings accounts, divide by the number of miles I had to drive to the doctors’ offices if I went the long way, and then decide if the pharmacy receipts I have been hoarding are really from last year or are actually gas receipts from 2002 when I was trying to keep track of how many miles I was getting per gallon in the Subaru.

And then I need to compare my total of medical expenses to the standard medical deduction before coming to the conclusion that I had just spent six hours for nothing because the standard medical deduction is actually a better deal.

Determine if I qualify for the Tier 1 RRTA tax withheld exemption (Line 71) as soon as I can determine what the Tier 1 RRTA tax withheld exemption is.

Unearth my calculator so I can add Line 26, moving expenses, to Line 35, domestic production activities deduction, without having to rely on Form 8903, which forbids the use of calculator depreciation if the calculator was actually a gift for opening a new account at the local bank.

Then find this year’s tax forms. I think I put may have put them away with the dental floss.

