Yes, I only received half of 1 percent of three-quarters of a vote of unmarried blue collar workers under the age of 43 who are lefthanded. And I do want to thank those supporters for their support.

I am equally aware that I did come in 11th among 10 candidates in the most recent primary, but I would like to point out that I nevertheless absolutely exceeded expectations.

According to exit polls, nearly half of badly dressed, first-time voters who suffer periodically from exercise-induced asthma were able to recognize my name from a list of potential characters in the next Star Wars movie. My favorability rankings among them were high, and a good number believed I would be best able to handle negotiations with foreign-sounding waiters in snooty restaurants.

I attribute that success to an extraordinarily determined ground game here that is willing to work hard and pay well for every vote we can get.

And that’s why, at this time, despite some rough going, I have decided not to suspend any suspension of my campaign. I will let other candidates continue to drop out until there are no other candidates left and you will have to elect me. It’s the American way.

And really, my fellow Americans, it’s not important how many votes I receive or whether I receive any votes at all. In this election, we have to move beyond our preoccupation with votes and focus on the big issues facing our country — like the rise of TV commercials featuring ads for drugs we’ve never heard of, for conditions we never knew existed and whose names we can’t pronounce.

As you know, this campaign has never been about votes. We’ve never been about a lot of things, in fact. We’re particularly proud of not being about Rihanna’s wardrobe or next year’s college football season.

This campaign has always been about taking our country back from whoever took it and hid it under the bed, where we haven’t cleaned since March. This campaign has always been about empowering the American people to make their own decisions, even if they do want to go see the new Ben Stiller movie.

From the beginning, this campaign has always been about empowering the little guy and helping him to look taller, even if that meant wearing clunky boots. We have fought against a political class that only serves the big, the powerful, the well-connected and those who can afford to fly business class. Only when we all can fly in seats where we are actually able to move our legs will this great nation fulfill its potential.

So we will not drop out of the race despite the obstacles we face. We will continue to fight for larger print for “use by” stamps on packaged foods.

We will continue to speak our mind, even if there’s nothing much there and we are forced to repeat the same sentence fragments again and again.

